2018 Webstar Magazine Media Awards Information

The Webstar Magazine Media Awards honours magazine brands, initiatives and individuals that demonstrate journalistic and design excellence. The awards aim to inspire innovation and empower commercial success by recognising and awarding creativity across multiple platforms. It’s a yearly celebration of the unique ability of magazines to engage audiences through the craft of storytelling.

All magazine publishers are invited to submit entries to the 2018 Webstar Magazine Media Awards. We wish every entrant the best of luck, and look forward to seeing who will shine this year on Awards night.

Entries are now closed for 2018. Preliminary Individual Judge Scoring is now underway - For Judging Login Click Here

The 2018 Awards Categories

Click here to visit the awards category page or click here to download a PDF of the Awards Categories with judging criteria 

Important Dates

Award Entries Open 

Friday 1st June 2018 

Award Entries Close

Wednesday 18th July - 5.00pm 

Judges Announced

 Friday 19th July 2018

Judging Days

Thursday 2nd and Friday 3rd August 2018 (Half Days/Full Days)

Finalists announced, & tickets go on sale

Wednesday 8th August 2018

People’s Choice Voting Open

Wednesday 8th August 2018

People’s Choice Voting Closes

Wednesday 5th September 2018

Webstar Media Award Gala Dinner

Thursday 6th September 2018.

Entry Eligibility

To be eligible for the 2018 Webstar Magazine Media Awards, entries must have been published, or on sale, between April 1st 2017 and March 31st 2018.

Award Entry Fees

MPA Members - $95 (ex. GST) per entry

Non-MPA Members - $190 (ex. GST) per entry

Please Note: finalists for Best Cover will automatically go into the People’s Choice Award (additional entry fees do NOT apply).

New & Improved Award Programme

Every year the MPA revisits the award programme and categories to ensure they reflect the evolving face of the magazine industry. It’s important that we look carefully at new trends, technologies and mediums to give the right people and brands their chance to shine.

The 2018 Awards includes a revision of some of the existing categories, plus several new awards to acknowledge the emerging multi-platform nature of magazines. Most notably, for the first time ever the Webstar Magazine Media Awards are opening an award category up to allow people to vote for their favourite magazine. The finalists for the Best Cover categories for Consumer Special Interest, Current Affairs, Business & Trade, Home & Food and Lifestyle (incorporating Mass Women’s) will go into the Magshop People’s Choice Award. The public can then vote for their top three favourite covers using a voting gallery, and the magazine with the largest number of votes will take home the award.

We’re excited to introduce this opportunity for everyone to have a say as an industry – as we move forward together, it feels more appropriate than ever to collectively reward those that have worked hard, planned hard, thought creatively and shone brightly.

2018 Naming Rights Sponsor: Webstar

We’re delighted to announce Webstar as the naming rights sponsor for the 2018 Magazine Media Awards. Webstar are New Zealand’s leading print communications company, offering multi-platform solutions that span all areas of print and digital media. 

“The Magazine Media Awards are a natural fit for Webstar, and it’s exciting for us to be involved with the Awards,” says CEO Bernie Roberts. “The focus on integration and innovation in particular aligns with our company philosophy, and we’re proud to be supporting the evolution of the print magazine in a hands-on way.”

With 48 categories and over 70 judges involved, MPA Executive Director Pip Elliott says the support of Webstar, as well as their close ‘family’ of additional sponsors, is vital to running the multipart Awards programme. “We’re delighted Webstar has come on board, and appreciate Webstar’s ongoing support of the magazine industry.”

Introducing AwardForce

For the first time, the 2018 Awards will be run through the Award Force online entry and judging portal. This change will significantly streamline the award entry and judging process for all concerned. Check it out here

New Awards

A number of new awards and format changes will be introduced for 2018, reflecting the evolving face of the magazine media industry.

New awards:

  • People’s Choice Award
  • Best Trade Magazine
  • Best Digital Editor
  • Best Digital Design
  • Best Use of Technology to Generate Revenue and Engage Audience
  • Supreme Digital Brand of the Year (B2C & B2B Sub-categories).

Additional format changes:

  • Best Columnist now incorporates Columnist/Blogger
  • Best Photographer has been categorised into Portrait and Feature
  • B2B and B2C category has been introduced into the following awards – Best Columnist/Blogger, Best Digital Brand, and Best Magazine Sales Person/Team.

Click here for a full list of 2018 Awards

2018 Webstar Magazine Media Awards Judges


The MPA relies on the support of our family of sponsors to run the Awards each year. Their funding means we can continue to tell the evolving magazine story, demonstrating why magazines are a successful advertising medium.

The relationship we have with our sponsors has evolved to mutually beneficial partnerships.

Our list of sponsors (including links to their websites) can be found by clicking the link below. If you would like to talk about becoming a sponsor of the MPA, we have a number of opportunities available – so please contact us for more information.